A House of Pomegranates

A House of Pomegranates

by Oscar Wilde

A House of Pomegranates is a collection of whimsical short stories by Oscar Wilde. This collection includes the following tales:"The Young King""The Birthday of the Infanta" "The Fisherman and his Soul""The Star-child"Readers of all ages will be delighted by these fanciful tales.

  • Language: English
  • Category: Classics
  • Rating: 3.91
  • Pages: 101
  • Publish Date: January 1st 2006 by Digireads.com
  • Isbn10: 1420927353
  • Isbn13: 9781420927351

What People Think about "A House of Pomegranates"

The third story The Fisherman and His Soul is fascinating. Starting off as a vaguely familiar tale of a lovelorn young fisherman who gives up his soul to be with the mermaid who has stolen his heart, it quickly moves in stranger directions. A phrase uttered by the soul as he recounts his acts to the fisherman, And I did a strange thing, but what I did matters not, is repeated three times and it is unnerving, chilling. The soul returns to the fisherman repeatedly, telling him of his adventures, always trying to reunite with him in the same body. And finally the soul does tempt the fisherman away from his undersea home, despite the peace and satisfaction that the fisherman has achieved with his mermaid love. The soul leads the fisherman astray; he compels him to do terrible and cruel and inexplicable things. The fisherman reaches his own transcendence by achieving his strongest desire, by falling in love: a love that is connected to his heart and one that is a palpably physical love. That we dont need those terrible adventures that force us to confront the true nature of Knowledge, Wealth, and Lust, that these are all Outside Forces that are in the end truly meaningless? That the fisherman's soul journeys towards a kind of living death and, later, in his attempt to use "good" and "evil" to influence the fisherman - that he is constructing a false binary of good vs. flowers blooming on unconsecrated ground, over the body of the dead fisherman; a narrow-minded priest suddenly finding himself lost in his own passionate moment of transcendence and connection to the beauty around him. One is the story of a young king who learns that to love the beauty of material goods is to support the enslavement and oppression of the people who create those goods; in the end he achieves a glorious and godly transcendence in a church. The other is the story of a child who is beautiful, vain, and cruel; that child is transformed into an ugly creature and is then tormented until he achieves his own glorious and godly transcendence. Even worse, the themes of these particular tales almost act as a renunciation of some of the ideas present in the far more complex and satisfying story of the fisherman. after our little princess comes across the body of the good dwarf, she fails to understand that her toy has broken permanently and is annoyed when told that the death was due to a broken heart: And the Infanta frowned, and her dainty rose-leaf lips curled in pretty disdain.

Genç Kral masal, halklar açlk, sefalet ve hastalkla krlrken, zevk ve sefa içinde yaayan krallara bir eletiri niteliinde.

Sau khi c Ngôi Nhà Thch Lu thì có l cun này thích hp hn vi ngi ln, vì nó khá dark và deep nh phim DC ch không vui v kt có hu nh Hoàng T Hnh Phúc. Ngôi Nhà Thch Lu gm có bn truyn ngn, cá nhân t ánh giá nh sau: V Vua Tr: 3.5/5 Sinh Nht Ca Công Chúa: 4.5/5 Chàng Ng Ph Và Linh Hn: 3/5 Cu Bé Ngôi Sao: 4.25/5 Ngòi bút ca Oscar Wilde vn hng v cái thin và nhng ngi nghèo.

"A House of Pomegranates" is a collection of four fairy tales which were written by Oscar Wilde and published in 1891. The stories of "A House of Pomegranates" turn on those hopes, the Dwarf and the Fisherman can only be saved by death itself, while the Young King can only find salvation by the recognition of suffering and the Star-Child by himself suffering enough to cut short his life. "Ay," answered the man, "and the name of the rich brother is Cain.""The Young King" tells the story of the illegitimate shepherd son of the recently dead king's daughter. On his coronation day, the Young King refuses to wear the raiment, and plucks himself a crown, a scepter and a robe from things he finds in the forest. The dwarf oblivious to the fact that the children and the rest of the audience were acutally laughing at him as he dances and performs, believes that the Infanta must love him and tries to seek her out after dinner. The tale ends with the Infanta telling her servant "For the future, let those who come to play with me have no hearts." The narrative itself didn't blew my socks off but I liked the fact that in the beginning of the story the dwarf wasn't aware of how he looked (because he grew up impoverished in the woods) and this unawareness contributed to his happiness he couldn't be shallow, he couldn't be vain because looks simply didn't matter to him. 3 The Fisherman and his Soul 3 Stars In order to live with the love of his life (a mermaid), the young fisherman gives up his soul to live underwater. Each year that passes, the Soul visits the Fisherman and tells him of all the different places that it had visited. Both times, the Fisherman refuses because he thinks that love is more important than wisdom or wealth. Passing through the cities on the way, the Soul tells the Fisherman to do things: steal a silver cup, beat a child and kill a man who just gave them shelter. When the Fisherman tries to part from his Soul again, he learns that that is no longer possible, and he is therefore not able to return to his love underwater. With the help of a rabbit, the Star-Child manages to find a piece each day, but whenever he returns to the city, he stumbles upon a beggar who tells him that he will starve if the Star-Child doesn't surrender the gold to him. Before setting out to find the third and last piece of gold, his master told him that he would kill him if he comes back without it. Upon entering the city, everyone awaits him to crown him the new king, and he discovers the city's present rulers to be his mother, the beggar woman, and his father, the beggar he had given the gold to. At the story's end, we are told of his kind, loving, and charitable reign, but that it only lasted for three years, and the king that followed him was cruel and evil.

Hi tht vng vi cái kt ca "Cu bé ngôi sao", vì mình thy nguyên câu chuyn cho ti trc on cui cùng là hay ri, vy mà tác gi li xí xn thòng thêm cái on cui vào chi không bit...

A House of Pomegranates consists of four fairy tales written by Oscar Wilde and released in 1891 as a sequel to the collection, The Happy Prince and Other Tales. This collection (there were three all told), is dedicated to his wife, Constance, and contains: The Young King, The Birthday of the Infanta, The Fisherman and his Soul, and The Star-Child.

Several of his plays continue to be widely performed, especially The Importance of Being Earnest.